Who supported the Voter Protection Act (Proposition 105)?

“The will of the people is the most important element of our government. Once an election takes place, votes can’t be thrown away just because a few politicians don’t like the results of an election.

I believe Arizona voters are smart enough to know what they are voting for. I don’t think the Legislature or the Governor should have the right to thwart or veto the will of the people. I urge you to vote Yes on the Voter Protection Act. It will preserve the will of the people in Arizona once and for all.”

Joe Arpaio, Sheriff
Honorary Co-chair, Voter Protection Alliance

Joe Arpaio supported the Voter Protection Act but is against the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act which is now protected by the Voter Protection Act.

“The ultimate test of a democracy is whether a citizen’s vote actually counts.

There is a disturbing trend in Arizona in which citizens pass initiatives by overwhelming margins, only to watch the legislature turn around within months and gut what the voters passed. This has occurred on numerous issues, including drug policy reform, health care, and the environment.

I don’t agree with every initiative that has passed in Arizona, but I fundamentally believe that the politicians at the legislature have no right to thwart the mandate of voters. We must honor the will of the people.

The Voter Protection Act ensures that the Legislature cannot repeal an initiative or referendum approved by the voters. The Act prohibits the governor from vetoing an initiative or referendum approved by voters. It allows the legislature only to make strictly technical amendments to further the purpose of the measure with a 3/4 super majority.

So vote Yes on the Voter Protection Amendment. Let the will of the people stand.”

Grant Woods
(Former)Arizona Attorney General

Who is against the implementation of the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act in its entirety?

Tom Horne, Arizona Attorney General

County Attorneys

Bill Montgomery, Maricopa County Attorney
Sheila Polk, Yavapai County Attorney
Ken Angle, Graham County Attorney
George Silva, Santa Cruz County Attorney
Brad Carlyon, Navajo County Attorney
Jon R. Smith, Yuma County Attorney
Daisy Flores, Gila County Attorney
Matt Smith, Mohave County Attorney
Barbara LaWall, Pima County Attorney
James P. Walsh, Pinal County Attorney
Michael Whiting, Apache County Attorney
Ed Rheinheimer, Cochise County Attorney
Derek Rapier, Greenlee County Attorney


Sheriff Joe Arpaio, Maricopa County
Sheriff John Armer, Gila County
Sheriff Steven Tucker, Greenlee County
Sheriff Joseph Dedman, Jr., Apache County
Sheriff Larry Dever, Cochise County
Sheriff Ralph Ogden, Yuma County
Sheriff Preston Allred, Graham County
Sheriff Donald Lowery, La Paz County
Sheriff Thomas Sheahan, Mohave County
Sheriff Clarence Dupnik, Pima County
Sheriff Scott Mascher, Yavapai County
Sheriff Paul Babeu, Pinal County
Sheriff Kelly Clark, Navajo County